Smoothieville Central

So I like totally love smoothies! I could probably have one twice a day. However, I kind of fell out of love with them during my bedrest sentence, due to not being mobile and being able to get up to make them. Oh but that inconvenience has come and gone, and boy did I make up for it!

As soon as Pebbles turned 2 weeks and I was feeling back to my old self, smoothies were the 1st items that I wanted to make.

Day 1: 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder (Nature’s Bounty), 1 cup of original soymilk, 1 tbsp of ground flax (Simple Truth), 1/2 banana, 1 scoop of peanut butter (Smart Balance) and a few ice cubes

Day 2: 1 cup of original soy milk, 2 strawberries, 1/2 cup of fresh kale, 1/2 banana, dash of cinnamon, 1 tsp of chia seeds and a few ice cubes

Day 3: 1 cup of original soy milk, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/2 of steel cooked oats, 1 scoop of peanut butter, 1 tsp of ground flax, dash of ginger, dash of cinnamon

Day 4: 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder (Nature’s Bounty), 1 cup of original soymilk, 1 tbsp of ground flax (Simple Truth), 1/2 banana, 1 scoop of peanut butter (Smart Balance) and a few ice cubes (NOT PICTURED)

Now, after Day 4, I was feeling pumped, energized, my milk supply was coming in quite nicely and there were no complaints. That was until a family member, asked me if it was ok to drink soy milk while nursing Pebbles. I believe so, was my reply, but it got me wondering. Come to find out, soy milk isn’t recommended while nursing due to the amount of estrogen that is in it. Now not being recommended doesn’t mean its bad, just means to consume at your own risk. Needless to say, I opted out of it!

Day 5: Started off simple: 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 frozen banana, 4 strawberries and  1 tsp of flax

I’ve been alternating these recipes on a daily basis using the same contents outside of the soy milk. I’ve since then replaced with original and vanilla almond milk.

Leave a Reply

